#collection-5c54c506ec212dcb85189a49 #site { margin: 0 auto; padding: 0px 0px; }

Exhibitions

city to surf

our Featured

head on photo festival Exhibition

Two outdoor locations at bondi beach and paddington

04 May 2019 to 19 May 2019

IMAGE CREDIT: RACHAEL WILLIS

IMAGE CREDIT: RACHAEL WILLIS

CONGRATULATIONS TO THE SELECTED EXHIBITORS:

Alan Thexton, VIC - @athexphotographs

Alfonso Perez de Velasco, VIC - @avelasco71

Andrea Zubani, NSW - @andreazubani

Andrew Kagis, NSW - @BigLensLittleLens

Ben Dowling, VIC - @ben_dowling_

Bryce Waters, NSW - @bryce.waters

Christian Clowes, WA - @christian_clowes

Deb Bonney , VIC - @deb.bonney

Deborah Field, NSW - @thephotonews

Didi S. Gilson, NSW - @didi_s_gilson

Ed Fetahovic, WA - @edslothx1

Ed Sheldon, NSW - @edsheldon_

Jonathan Gliksten, NSW - @jongliksten

Jonathan Pui, NSW - @jonopui

Justin Tan-Torres, WA - @justin_tan_torres

Linda Maclean, NSW - @linda_maclean_

Luke Della Santa, NSW - @lukedellasanta

Matthew Venables, NSW - @matthewvenables

Paul Blackmore, NSW - @paulblackmorephoto

Rachael Willis, NSW - @thebowerbirdgirl

Rebecca Wiltshire, WA - @rebeccawiltshire

Reuel Santos, VIC - @reuel.santos

Sam Ferris, NSW - @ferriswhiskey

Simon Ross, NSW - @simonross.photography

Tom Young, NZ - @youngtomyoung

IMAGE CREDIT: PAUL BLACKMORE

IMAGE CREDIT: PAUL BLACKMORE

 
IMAGE CREDIT: ED FETAHOVIC

IMAGE CREDIT: ED FETAHOVIC

EXHIBITION DESCRIPTION

City to Surf is an exhibition exploring two quintessential settings that have perennially captivated Australian street photographers: the sprawling metropolis and a favourite recreational locale for those looking to escape it, the beach. In Australian cities, the cost of living has never been higher and the sense of anxiety never more acutely felt; with alienation and consumerism reflected on every street corner. Whereas the beach is traditionally associated with the iconic Australian lifestyle. Populated by a diverse array of people from all backgrounds and different walks of life, aspiring to find a sense of belonging, relaxation and restoration by the water. The photographs aim to not only articulate the vast differences between the ‘City’ and the ‘Surf’ as backdrops against which the rituals of daily life are acted out, but also interrogate the connection between them as places imbued with the strangeness, wonder, and beauty of Antipodean life.


aussie street 2018

JPUI3230.JPG
JPUI3269.JPG
Aussie street 2018 opening night

AUSSIE STREET

2018

Exhibition

541 Artspace - Sydney

5-15 May 2018

 
young-henrys-best-craft-beer-brewer-sydney.jpg
 
DSC03276.JPG
JPUI3233.JPG